Christmas Treasures

Wow, Thanksgiving flew by and now we’re already two weeks from Christmas! All I’ve managed to accomplish is put up our two Christmas trees and hang our new wreath on the front door. I should be working on Christmas dining table arrangements and something for our mantel, but while I’m still thinking about that, I thought I’d share with you my favorite Christmas tree ornaments. They are hand-carved wood ornaments made by my dad.

santa collage

I love, love, love the Santa stuck in the chimney. I think it’s such a clever detail to have his face at the bottom of the ornament. I also have several Santa faces whittled on cut branches. Santa snoozing on the crescent moon is adorable. I put all of these handmade ornaments on our old small tree. The tree itself looks a little Charlie Brown, but it’s made extra special by these ornaments.

Three Santas

My other Christmas treasures are three Santa figurines, also carved by my dad. I have to say my favorite is the one in the middle because of how my dad followed the natural shape of the wood to make it. I’m not sure where he came up with the idea to insert a golf ball into a Santa carving, but he did really enjoy golf and would even carve ornaments out of old golf balls.

I’m sure I’ll change the color scheme or theme of our Christmas decorations several times over my lifetime, but these pieces handcrafted by my dad will always be at the center of my holiday décor. What treasured pieces do you bring out year after year?

One thought on “Christmas Treasures

  1. Jennifer, those are amazing! I love carved wooden figures – especially Christmas decorations! To know your Dad made them must make them extra special! I like them all!! What a wonderful way to celebrate Christmas with memories of your Dad!!

Leave a Reply

