One Media Console And A Giant TV

Hey, guys, guess what? A couple of weeks ago I bought some furniture and it didn’t come from IKEA! I know, right? Amazing! Well, maybe it isn’t that amazing considering in the last two years, I have actually either purchased furniture online or ordered sight-unseen from a local store, both of which can be a little nerve-wracking. So here is how my latest online furniture shopping experience went down.

I went to my usual favorite sites like Crate & Barrel, West Elm, Wayfair and Overstock, picked out what looked good to me and put a Pin in it (you know what I mean). Here are a few of my favorites, a mix of rustic and traditional.

Then I decided I liked this one from Crate & Barrel. I love the color and grain of the wood combined with the metal details. It’s rustic and contemporary all at the same time.

Wyatt Media Console

I liked it the best until I realized Crate And Barrel would charge $299 for shipping, nearly adding another 30% to the total price (there isn’t a store in my home state). Yowza! Since I’m a girl on a budget (I’m a real tightwad), I zeroed in on Wayfair because of free shipping and I like how you can refine the search capabilities so it’s easier to find what you’re looking for.

I’ll admit that picking out an entertainment center/media console is kinda complicated. There are so many things to consider. I ignored style for a while and simply went by width and price to conduct my search. Hubby bought a 70 inch TV, so the actual width of the TV is 60 inches. At first I figured I wanted at least a 72 inch wide media console, but it was too hard to find that at a price I was willing to pay. Then I realized I had to consider the size and number of the media components and how tall the unit would be. How high we wanted to hang the TV had to work with the side speakers, plus the center speaker, which will sit on the top of the console. After I figured all that out, it was easy to decide. Here is what I settled on.

Enchantment+Entertainment+Console+Table+in+Natural+Walnut

It is 65 inches wide, 24 inches tall and the shelves will actually fit our components. I especially like that there is a drawer for storage and the glass doors will keep things hidden, but remotes will still work. A nice bonus feature I realized after the unit was delivered, already assembled (score!), is that the shelves are vented to help keep components cool. Delivery happened just like Wayfair said it would. Overall, I’d say my experience with Wayfair was very good. It saved me the hassle of driving all around town to different furniture stores and then giving up in frustration.

Here’s our old set-up.

P1050004

Here is our new TV and media console.

new media console in room

I think the new TV is in better proportion to the wall and the room, plus it’s in better balance with the speakers and new media console. I’ll admit I was worried that a 70 inch TV would be too big, but I think it looks great. I do wish I could change out the speakers. Replacing those with smaller versions of equivalent quality is out of the budget right now. I’m hoping I can disguise the bass speaker and soften all the boxy edges, perhaps with some plants. I’m thinking a tall ficus or fig leaf tree on the far right side and maybe a smaller, bushy plant between the fireplace and left speaker. We’ll see how it goes and I’ll be sure to give you an update after I’ve decorated and styled the living room more.

Have you purchased furniture online? How was your experience? Have you tried Wayfair too?

One thought on “One Media Console And A Giant TV

  1. Good choice! I like the bigger TV too!! I hope you enjoy these new additions to your room!! Can’t wait to see what else you add!

Leave a Reply

