Making Table Linens with Oakshott Cotton

I was thrilled to have the opportunity to be a part of Sew Mama Sew’s Oakshott Cotton Table Linens Challenge.  When I received the fabric I was curious about its unique iridescent color.  It is 100 percent mercerized cotton and has a lovely sheen to it.  On closer inspection I realized that this was partly due to the way the material is woven. Its weft and warp are woven from too distinct yet complementary colors.  So that’s when the ideas for napkin making began to swirl in my head.  I really wanted to take advantage of the opportunity to showcase these lovely colors.

IMG_3385

I have a favorite set of napkins that I really love that served as inspiration for the napkins that I made.  They are made from a very different fabric but I really loved the way the edge was done with a rolled hem and I wanted to re-create this look.

IMG_3384

I know that not every one has a serger with which to achieve this look so I decided to come up with a method for a rolled hem look without a serger.  Since I am also a knitter I decided to see what would happen if I tried to accomplish this look with the use of yarn.

Fall 2014 003

So I chose to use yarn in complementary colors similar to the ones used in the weft threads.  I chose the same color thread in both the needle and the bobbin to match the yarn color I chose so you would not see the thread color as it held down the yarn along the edge of the napkin.

Fall 2014 005

I sewed the yarn down with a zig-zag stitch on each of the four edges.  Then once I was done I trimmed close to the yarn edge without cutting through my zig-zag stitch.

Fall 2014 014

For a more detailed tutorial click here.

napkins1

I am happy with the end result. I feel as though these napkins can be used in both a more formal setting as well as a more casual one.  Also, you can get creative with your yarn.  Some of the yarns I used also had an iridescent quality as well.  Also one of the yarns I used is made of variegated tones that darken and lighten as it goes around the edge of the napkin.  So with your choice of yarn, which is endless, you could greatly change the look of the napkins.

napkins2

I feel like this makes for a fun and quick project that is practical while also letting you express your self creatively.  I can’t wait to see what napkins you make!

Be sure to head over to Sew Mama Sew the week of October 22-25 th to check out the highlights from this challenge. You can also enter to win some Oakshott Cotton fabric of your own!!

I’m lucky enough to have these guys join me in this challenge.

Michelle White            Falafel and the Bee

Jessica Skultety         Quilty Habit

Nicole Neblett             mama loves quilts

Sara Peterson            knottygnome crafts

Anjeanette Klinder

So go check out their blogs and see what everyone is making!! Napkins just in time for the Holidays!!!

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Making Table Linens with Oakshott Cotton

  1. Pingback: Lakes on a table | Shotthrough

    • Yes, if you click on the tutorial I explain. It doesn’t come out. I washed then multiple times. I’m sure eventually it could come out a bit in places. But for me this is a risk worth taking for a quick easy napkin with a rolled edge look:)

  2. Pingback: Oakshott Lakes Table Linens Challenge with Mary Claire + Fabric Giveaway | Sew Mama Sew | Outstanding sewing, quilting, and needlework tutorials since 2005.

    • Great, Michele! So glad you find this useful!! You can make them really quickly, too! You’ll have a whole set in no time!

  3. I would never have thought of this! And I’m glad to know it won’t come out. I love The Purl Bee’s tradition of making a new set of napkins every Thanksgiving so your idea is very timely for me. Thanks for the directions, too!

Leave a Reply

