A Gal With A Plan

Does it ever seem like it takes you forever to finally do something that you’ve wanted to do for ages? I feel that way about lots of things all the time, but now I’m so excited that at least on one front, we are finally moving forward. Imagine that I have pom-poms in my hands and I’m doing a little cheer because I’m so happy that hubby has finally bought a new TV. This purchase will have a snowball effect in our house, so I think that must be why we waited so long to finally hit the enter button on our Amazon Wishlist. So what gave us the go-ahead? Hubby finally found a new job and it means we will not have to move. Woot, woot! We’ll get to stay in our house and I’ll be able to work on all these projects I’ve been planning. Work will continue at Lease Haus!

front view after ps

It will be weeks before the new TV and the media console I picked out arrive, so it gives me plenty of time to get our guest room in order. You see, the guest room will inherit the old TV and media console that is currently in our living room. The guest room, really more like storage room, will morph into a hangout spot for my son and his friends. Here’s what it looks like now.

P1050081

We’ve been a one TV family for so long, it will really be nice to have a spot for kids to play video games or watch movies while adults hang out in the living room (or I can watch Call The Midwife while hubby watches football).

I’m not going to go into the details about the new TV and media console in this post. I’ll wait until they arrive that way I can better show you why we picked what we did and how it works in the space. What I’m really more excited about is getting the guest room set up. I even did a mood board a few weeks ago and I already have some artwork and fabrics purchased to use in the room.

guest room mood board

I did the mood board on Olioboard.com, but I’m not very pleased with this website because I can’t figure out how to make the image larger so y’all can see it better. I tried to recreate the mood board by just copying pictures onto a blank page to save as a PDF. Then, I thought it might be a waste of time because essentially everything going into this room is already in the house and I really won’t buy very much. When you get down to it, to finish the guest room all I have to do is move around some furniture, sew some pillow covers, buy some picture frames, and buy some lamps. Should be easy right?

Here’s what I already have that will go in the guest room.

stuff I got collage

The bird prints coordinate nicely with the colors in the fabric and I think they’ll look nice in a rustic wood frame. I’m flirting with the idea of refinishing the end tables, but I’ll probably wait to decide that after I put them in the room and see how everything works together. It took me a few days to realize that I should move our living room end tables into the guest room and upgrade to nicer end tables in the living room. The TV stand will fit nicely, but the TV will hang on the wall and the speaker will stay in the living room. I think the pillow fabric I bought looks good with the curtains I’ve had forever. I plan to pile pillows on the daybed, so it looks something like this.

Hopefully that will be nice and comfy for all the gamers and guests who come to visit. I’ll be sure to keep you posted on the pillow and framing projects, plus the lighting plan I come up with for the room.

What projects have you finally been able to tackle after months of waiting? Do you use any rooms in your house for a different purpose than they were intended?

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

Leave a Reply

