Summer Knitting – His and Hers

Nothing says knitting like a hot summer day!  This summer while it was 1000 degrees outside I decided it would be a great time to do some knitting! Actually summer time does seem to be a good time for projects, like knitting, that are portable. Knitting projects are also great in summer because they can be picked up for a few minutes and then put down when you get busy with something else. So it some ways it is the perfect summer project!

First, socks for my son.

socks

I think he picked out this yarn 5 years ago!  …….And he was 5.  Luckily, green, yellow and gray still seems to appeal to him!  So it was about time to knit these socks!  Plus, pretty soon he will no longer want hand knit socks made by his mother.  I better enjoy making things for him while I can!  This was my first time using self stripping yarn and I have to say I really like it!  No changing the yarn color!  It just makes these great stripe patterns on its own!  I don’t know why I haven’t tried this type of yarn before!

For my daughter, I am knitting a sweater.  I’ve have been wanting to try this one for a while and if you look on Ravelry literally thousands of people have knit this one up. That is pretty amazing! But I never gave it a try because I didn’t think I would stick with it. I have yet to knit an adult sized sweater but when I realized that this one comes in a child’s size I decided to try it since it would be a smaller project.    sweater

I was pointed in the direction of this sweater from reading Susan B. Anderson’s blog and following her on instagram. Following her feed is dangerous.  She knits so many beautiful thinks you want to try every thing she is making! Right now she is working on project sweater chest. She has an actual chest of sweaters that she has knit over the years many of which she no longer wears. She wants to fill it with new sweaters that she will wear and she is encouraging others to knit sweaters also. So she is in the process of picking her top 10 favorite sweaters that she has knit and the owl sweater pattern that I used to knit the sweater above is one of those 10.

018

Here are the arms after I knit them.  This was where Jennifer said she would just stop and make leg warmers!  Actually, not a bad idea!  But, I hung in there an as you saw in the above photo I attached them to the body of the sweater.  I’ve started on the owl pattern and I think? I see owls?  We’ll see…..

I’ll have to start a project mini sweater chest as right now I’m happier to work on smaller sweaters! They much more likely to be finished!  So, do you find that certain craft projects are seasonal?  Or do you just start projects that inspire you no matter the season?

One thought on “Summer Knitting – His and Hers

  1. I like your logic that Summer is a good time for knitting because it also means that you’ll have those projects done for when you’d actually wear them in the Fall and Winter. Good thinking!

    The last time I thought of knitting, I never did anything about it except check out a local yarn shop, which has since closed down! So sad because it would have been such a great resource compared to JoAnn’s or Walmart. I think shopping for yarn is the fun part with all of the beautiful colors and textures.

Leave a Reply

