Elbow Grease

I’ve been working on the my house. Really, I have! Sometimes it doesn’t feel like I’m accomplishing much around here if I don’t share it with y’all, but what I’ve been working on lately doesn’t make for the best before/after pictures.

I recently cleaned our windows and I don’t mean the glass. I mean the gross parts like the trim and tracks. Our windows slide open like sliding doors and they’re a real pain to clean.

window

I didn’t take a before picture and you should thank me for that. Some tracks were full of bug bits. I’m guessing no one else had thought to clean this part of the windows since the house was built back in 2002, twelve years of dirt. I’ve got a strong stomach and I just about gagged a couple of times.

I also weeded our plant beds, again and spread new pinestraw mulch.

Our kitchen floor was looking too shabby to be chic, so I caved-in and bought a super-duper chemical grout cleaner.

Grout cleaner

I think it’s diluted hydrochloric acid. A little acid will always melt away your problems, won’t it? Ahem . . . so after I worked up the courage to actually open the bottle, I got down on my hands and knees with a toothbrush. I was certain the chemical would work like a charm when it bubbled, no, fizzed on contact with the grout. Once the fizz fizzled out, I realized elbow grease was required too. Dang it. It took a few tiles for me to get my technique perfected.

kitchen floor

The left side is before and the right side is after. I found it best to let the solution sit on the grout for a few minutes, then add more solution to the grout line with my toothbrush just as I began to scrub, scrub, scrub. It seemed like it cleaned more effectively if you scrubbed while it fizzed.

The brass door knobs throughout our house had finally outstayed their welcome, so I pulled the trigger on my Amazon wish list. Hardware for an entire house of doors weighs a lot! I’m glad I was home when the UPS guy delivered so he could set the boxes down inside the house. I decided to go with the Kwikset Ashfield Venetian bronze lever style door knob.

door knobs

The lever style is more expensive than a knob, but I think it’s worth it so I won’t be stuck in the bathroom with freshly applied lotion on my hands. I’ve heard folks with arthritis appreciate the lever style too. Changing out the handles isn’t too hard to do. Although, if your doors need painting, when you change out the hardware would be a really good time to do that. I’m in a hurry, so I’m just sanding down any rough spots of paint before I put on the new hardware.

Okay, so that is what I’ve been up to these last few weeks. Next week I’ll share our master bedroom redo. It was the last room with a popcorn ceiling in the house. Yahoo! Until next time, friends!

One thought on “Elbow Grease

  1. Sounds like lots of work! Sometimes those little things don’t seem like much when you’re doing them but add up to lots in the end!!

    I may need to try that grout product! Love the new knobs -they look great!!!

Leave a Reply

