Where we’ve gotten so far

I am ridiculously excited that August will mark 3 years living here at our home in Texas.  Once we pass that 3 year mark it will officially be the longest that we’ve ever lived anywhere in our married life!  So with that in mind I thought I would take stock in how things have evolved at our place, mainly with our living room, over the past 3 years.  But, before I do that let’s take a look at how our DOG has changed!

Indy collage

Aww… Check it out!  Look at what a cute puppy he was!  He has grown so much!  It is amazing how much our children and our pets can change so quickly over time.  But in this case our homes too.

Here are a couple of photos from when we first moved in.

Evolve1

Here are side by shots of simiar views both from when we first moved in and now.

beforeafter1

I guess camera quality has also improved!  Funny, we gained curtains and lost a rug!  We also added an ottoman, more plants, and most recently pictures on our TV wall.  Wires and outlets are also disguised.  It definitely feels more homey now!

fireplace2

On the left is our fireplace before we painted it the same color as the wall.  Then, here on the right are our most recent changes.  I was afraid to add this mirror above the mantle with all the light that comes it, but by layering the wreath on top I was able to get the mirror look I wanted without the glare.

livingroom2

Here are a few more looks around the room at how things have changed.  It just goes to show you that you don’t have to decorate all in one step.  Slow and steady can get the job done too.  If you are willing to wait and if you live there long enough!

May 2014 105

There’s always more I’d love to do.  I’d love to add a rug (this one!).  I’d also be happy to add pillows if the dog and kids didn’t use them as toys!  They just seem to get torn up too fast!  But maybe now that both he and the kids are a little more mature they may last a little longer – maybe. I’d also definitely love to paint, but what color?  That may take some time to figure out.  In the meantime, I’m really happy that I’ve gotten to live here long enough to see where we’ve gotten so far!

 

 

One thought on “Where we’ve gotten so far

  1. That room looks so much better now. I’m so glad you shared it with us. I especially like how you styled the fireplace and the console table. I love that round mirror. You’re favorite rug looks like a good choice too.

    Congratulations on your three year anniversary! I hope you get to stay there longer since it seems you really enjoy living there.

    We are quickly approaching our second anniversary and this post has inspired me. I need to get my butt in gear and share everything we’ve accomplished over here.

Leave a Reply

