Target Lamp to Beaded Wall Sconce

title shotI recently saw this lamp at Target on clearance and quickly decided it needed to be made into my new bedside wall sconce!   I have been wanting to have a wall sconce by my bed for reading for a while but all the ones I saw online were very expensive.

Here is the lamp from Target on clearance.

IMG_1757

I bought two as I needed one for each side of the bed.

I definitely knew that I wanted to turn it upside down and then move the light fixture inside the glass  to make a sconce.   Also I figured I could use the existing holes for the cord to go through as well as for attaching it to the walI.  I thought I could reuse the existing light fixture and cord but upon further investigation I soon realized that this would not be possible so I had to buy two lamp kits.

Next, I had more thinking to do.

I spent some time pondering the unfinished wood aisle of Hobby Lobby.  Eventually I settled on several types of wooden beads and a small 4 inch round wooden plaque.

Then I had to think some more.

When I had the time to actually look at the various combinations of items that I had purchased I finally decided on what I would like best.

Here are the materials that I settled upon:

sconce materials

First, I started by removing all the exisiting hardware from the lamp.  Then I took out all the supplies from the lamp kit.  I didn’t use all the items from the kit only the light fixture assembly itself and the cord, the hollow threaded bolt also called a lamp nipple (which is why I renamed it!), and a small threaded ring.

firststep1

I drilled a hole in the middle of the wooden plaque large enough for the bolt from the light kit to go through.

IMG_1747

step2

Then, I threaded the light cord through the pre-existing holes in 5 of the larger wooden beads.  Next I placed the small ring from the light kit onto the cord. Then I placed the cord through the hole in the wooden plaque.  Then I threaded the cord up through the hole in the bottom of the lamp.  I used a twist tie temporarily to keep the beads at the top of the cord towards the light so they wouldn’t slide down the cord.

I then put the hollow threaded bolt onto the cord and through the hole in the bottom of the lamp.  Then I continued to thread on the three parts of the light socket assembly.  First the bottom, then the middle that contains the socket and then the top that fits down over the socket and clicks into the bottom.  (You have to loosen the screw in the base of the assembly to be able to screw it into the bolt.  Also, I followed the directions on the kit to attach the wires to the socket before putting on the top of the assembly.)

section 3 alternate

Then once the assembly was all together I screwed it into the bolt while at the same time tightening the ring on the other side of the wood plaque at the base of the lamp.  This made everything secure.

Then I took two of the smaller wooden beads and used a drill to make the hole in them a little larger.

Then I marked the spots on the wall where I wanted the sconce to attach. The hole through the top bead actually attaches the sconce to the wall.  I used those self drilling drywall ancors like these. The bottom bead just gets screwed directly into the wall as it is mostly decorative but it also serves to keep the sconce evenly spaced away from the wall.

final collage

There was a piece of plastic surrounding the hole leftover from its life as a lamp and I took it off and moved it back in place on the other side of the glass.  Doing this helped the head of the screw not rest directly on the glass which could damage the glass.

Note: The photo above on the middle right is incorrect.  I forgot to first screw the wooden bead into the wall.  So I had to go back and redo that. 

Then I decided where I wanted the beads that were attached to the cord to attach to the wall and place a nail there and slid the final bead right onto that nail.

Then I used little wooden plugs to cover the screws you would see through the back of the glass.  I glued these on the inside of the glass.  The top one got glued to the screw on the inside of the glass and the bottom one just got glued onto the glass itself.

Now, because of the type of lamp kit I used the on/off switch is INSIDE the globe! That would be really bad if I hadn’t learned on my previous light making venture how to apply a light cord switch to the cord.  So, luckily I will be able to do this to complete my project!  Also the second time around I made an additional purchase of a keyless light socket assembly that I switched out for the one that came with the light kit.  This meant that it did not have on/off switch on the light socket assembly.  So, the second sconce looks more streamlined.

Finally, I added a small clear bulb and here it is all ready for some late night reading!  After using the light a few times I have decided that the light may be a little too bright for my intended purpose and I may have to add some sort of glaze to the glass so it won’t be quite as bright.  But, I have to decide on the right design as I don’t want to cover the glass completely as the clear glass is one of my favorite parts.  Maybe the top half glazed and the bottom half not?  I’m not yet sure but aside from that I am really happy with the final product!

sconce2

I’m really enjoying the look of these.  I’ve often admired those beautiful beaded chandeliers, but I don’t really have a place for one in my home so this gives me a little hint of that look on a smaller scale.

final final collageThe options for changing this up are endless.  I could paint the beads and wooden plaque at the bottom, or stain them or use a different shaped globe entirely!   I also thought this would even look equally good upside down!  How would you design your sconce?  I’d love to see your ideas for changing this up!

I’m linking up today with East Coast Creative’s Creating with the Stars contest.

5 thoughts on “Target Lamp to Beaded Wall Sconce

  1. Wow, Mary Claire! That is a great project! I’m glad you saw the project through to the end even though you didn’t know exactly how it would work out when you started. So many of the most creative projects work out that way.

    Maybe you can find a diffuser that will fit in between the glass and light bulb? Not sure how much space you have there. Maybe it would get too hot. I’ve always thought it would be cool to try that glass etching compound to make frosted glass, or maybe paint? Endless possibilities.

  2. The lamps turned out great. I would like them in my bedroom. I can see how one might use a more decorative bulb in them. …but you would probably not get the light you would want to read by.
    I can see what you mean by endless possibilities. Good idea.

    • We’ll make one for your room when I come this summer!! 🙂 Also, I think I found the right bulb so I don’t have to frost it!

Leave a Reply

