Furniture Shopping Online

Hi! I’m back! I took a break for the holidays and then started working on our son Joshua’s room. I just can’t seem to get it together to blog while I’m in the middle of a big project. I’m not quite ready for a big reveal, but I’ll dip my toes back in the blog pool by sharing our recent online furniture shopping experience (it seems like more and more of our shopping is done online these days, doesn’t it).

Originally we had planned to make the six hour round-trip drive to IKEA in Charlotte to get Joshua a new mattress and bed frame. It’s a long way to go for a bed, but we probably would have picked up a few other things too! You know how it is! This is the bed I had in mind.

TRYSIL bed frame

It is the new TRYSIL series and the full size frame/headboard goes for $119. The bed slats we would have picked to go with it are $120, and the Sultan FInnvik full size memory foam mattress is $329, so the total would have been $568, plus tax. As is par-for-the-course around here, things rarely go as planned.

Before we even finished our last big project, the guest room, my husband noticed mattresses for sale on Woot. Woot started out as a flash sale site for electronics, but they’ve expanded to include everything from wine to, well, mattresses. Jeromy patrols the site like I devour Joss & Main or One Kings Lane. Anyway, the mattress he found was the same size and type we would have purchased at IKEA, but $100 less. I think shipping was a flat rate of $5. Score! I let him pull the trigger on that purchase. Since we had this new mattress lying around the house it was finally time to get serious about doing Josh’s room.

Then, right around Christmas, Jeromy spotted a bed frame and headboard for sale on Woot. It was cheaper than what I planned to get at IKEA, so I took a closer look. You know that cheaper than IKEA is really saying something. I was skeptical from the start, mainly because I didn’t like the look of the bed at all. I wish I could find a picture of it to share with you, but I couldn’t find it again. The part about it that really bothered me was the side rails. They were not made of one solid, long piece of wood. They were two shorter pieces joined half-way down the length of the bed by a leg that stuck out on the side. Talk about a toe breaker! After reading the reviews of the same bed on Amazon, I didn’t think cheaper was worth what seemed like much poorer quality.

Maybe part of me wanted to avoid a road trip to IKEA too, so I kept looking online until I found the perfect bed on Overstock.

Shaker Style Bed

Priced at $402.99, it was a bit more expensive than what I had planned to purchase at IKEA, but it had a number of things going for it.

  1. 1. It was made of real wood.
  2. 2. The reviews of the quality were good.
  3. 3. It isn’t the IKEA style.
  4. 4. Free shipping!
  5. 5. We could avoid the IKEA road trip.

In the end, we figured spending the extra $160 would get us a better bed and we probably would have spent $160 on gas and truck or van rental going to IKEA anyway. The delivery process from Overstock went great. They called a day or two after we made the purchase with a date and time and the local delivery service arrived on time with the bed in perfect condition. It looks great in Josh’s new room, which I’ll share with you soon.

Have you had many furniture purchases evolve differently than you planned? How is your luck purchasing furniture online?

Leave a Reply

