The stockings were hung by the chimney with care…

I’m not normally one who “picks a color scheme” for Christmas.  I usually use the decorations that I already have and use the same ones year after year, but this year I wanted to do something different.  I decided I wanted to decorate with more muted colors versus the typical red and green.  So I edited my Christmas decor down to the less colorful options. But when I went to put up my stockings they didn’t really like that idea.

So I got to thinking it could be fun to make a stocking slip cover to make these stockings look a little more grown-up and match the colors I was using.  After all my children are no longer toddlers and have kind of outgrown the more juvenile motifs.

So that is just what I did.

I traced the old stocking onto the new fabric and cut it out.  Sewed it up and trimmed off the seam allowance.  I clipped and notched the corners and curves.stocking2

Then I stuffed the old stocking into the new stocking slip cover and folded over the top as it was before.stocking3

Then I chose some trim to cover up the old green stitching and basted it in place.  This is just a temporary make-over so nothing is permanent.  We can always go back to using them with out the covers next year if we decide we miss the choo-choo and the snowman.

stocking4

I had all the supplies on hand so for no out of pocket expense I got the new look that I wanted.  I really love a quick and simple project.  So have you made over any of your Christmas decor this year?

stocking1

3 thoughts on “The stockings were hung by the chimney with care…

    • Great! Yeah, I need to do an update. Isabelle wanted her stocking back the way it was! Oh we’ll guess they have grown out of them after all!

  1. You are totally putting me to shame this Christmas. I think this is a great idea because I really don’t like our red fuzzy stockings. Now I’m inspired to take what I have and make something new. Also, I find that I don’t get through too many Christmases without my style and taste changing.

Leave a Reply

