Woodland Creatures, A Boy’s Bedroom Mood Board

Well, I don’t have any new house projects to reveal to you today. I realize now I could have split last week’s post into two. Oh well.

One of these days it will be time to do my son’s room and I have noticed how hard it is to find inspiration for, dare I say, a pre-teen boy. I decided to make my own inspiration, so here is a mood board that I developed. It certainly isn’t a complete design, but it’s a somewhere to start. As it evolved, I realized it has a rustic, woodland creature vibe to it. The larger, more expensive pieces are fairly theme neutral. Of course, the decorative items can change as your child gets older and taste changes.

Numbered Boys Room Mood Board

Here’s the rundown.

1. The duvet cover is from The Company Store and the full size is currently on sale for $109. I ended up choosing this bedding because the pattern is fun and I think it’s a good idea to use patterned bedding in a kid’s bedroom.

2. This night stand is from IKEA’s new line, Trysil. I actually really like the bed from this line, but I couldn’t make the mood board look right with two beds on it, so I featured the night stand instead. The price is $39.99.

3. I totally dig colorful ceramic lamps and I especially like colorful lamps on wood finish furniture, so I picked this lamp for $54 on Wayfair.

4. This USA map poster is available at UncommonGoods for $36. We like maps at our house and I love this version of the USA with hand-lettered words describing regions of the country.

5. The funky owl is also available at UncommonGoods. I know, owls are so yesterday since foxes are all the rage, but hey, I love all God’s creatures. He’s cute and only $24, plus I think would add some interesting texture to any room.

6. Junior has to have somewhere to display his treasures and the treasures you buy for him, so this shelf goes along well with the woodland theme (I don’t really mean THEME, if you know what I mean because this is not a THEME room). At the sale price of $59.95 at Crate & Barrel, I still think it’s a bit much for a 36 inch shelf, but someone should be able to copy the rustic edge, don’t you think?

7. Here we go with the foxes, but heck I’m on the front end of this trend (aren’t I?). I think this pillow is cute, so I’m going with it. You can find it at UncommonGoods for $32 if you like it too. I’d probably just make one for that price if I could figure out how to do it. Ahhh, who am I kidding, I’d just wait until it would go on sale.

8. This pair of prints is just a sample of what the FabFunky shop on Etsy has available. If a fox is too trendy for you, pick a different partner for the Badger King. I think the hand designed whimsical animal portraits printed on dictionary pages goes quite nicely with the lettered map. Just don’t add a stenciled quote on the wall of this boy’s room because that would be too much!

Numbered Boys Room Mood Board

I showed this mood board to my son, and he said, “meh.” What a booger. Well, I didn’t really design it for him, I guess I designed it for me. I like it, which makes me think maybe this isn’t just a boy’s room after all. Maybe a sophisticated young lady would like it too.

Do you have any ideas for a more mature boy’s room that doesn’t hit you over the head with a theme? If you do, I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

