Kitchen Inspiration: A Mood Board for a Non-White Kitchen

I had hoped to share the progress we’ve made on our kitchen with you, but my electrician/handyman (husband) hasn’t completed his To Do list yet. So, while we wait, I thought it would be fun to create a mood board for a non-white kitchen. Even though I like white kitchens (mine is white), I get very bored with them since it seems to be all I see in Better Homes and Gardens and on Houzz. If I could start from scratch and use something other than white cabinets, here is what I might come up with.

mood board

I started with the tile because I wanted a real focal point and I thought I’d go as far from white subway tiles as possible. This beautiful green tile is from Ann Sacks – Grace 2 in Peridot. I don’t even know how much it costs and I don’t care. A girl can dream about the jewels of her kitchen, right?

Then I picked the cherry Shaker style cabinets from Thomasville. I have always preferred Shaker style cabinets. These have a full overlay for a contemporary look and I especially like the slightly rustic feel thanks to the wood grain. I think the color of cabinets is really close to the grain of brown in the tile.

For countertops, I would go with a plain, crisp white or even something with small flecks of brown. I had a hard time capturing an image of countertops from the websites I looked at.

Next I picked the pendant light. As soon as I saw this pretty fixture with the slight amber color, I knew it was perfect. It seems to be just enough bling and a nod to rustic with the undulating glass texture. This might be a new fixture at Shades of Light. I don’t think I’ve seen it in any pictures yet. That must be why I like it.

For the cabinet hardware, I could have gone with brushed or polished nickel, but I thought chocolate bronze was more appropriate for the color of the cabinets. That is just a personal preference. I like how the lines of the handle coordinate with the elegant lines in the tile. I found the pulls on Wayfair.

mood board

I imagine this kitchen might have a window over the sink or maybe a bank of windows in a dining nook, so I picked out this Robert Allen fabric for a valance or Roman shade. I like match-stick shades too, but I’ve seen a lot of that going around.

You have to have something to sit on at the island. At first I was thinking of something modern with polished chrome, but when I saw this stool on Wayfair I was enchanted. I like how it matches the cabinet hardware, but the wood is darker than the cabinets, so it won’t blend in.

Then I thought I should pick something to set on the bright white counters and pop against the gorgeous tile back splash. I don’t think I had anything specific in mind. When I saw the hammered copper, I thought ka-ching! I think it is basically the same color as the cabinets and plays off the tile nicely. Sweet! This canister set is from Wayfair too. I seemed to have done a lot of shopping there for this room.

I’m not sure what kind of flooring is in this kitchen, but I’m sure a rug is totally appropriate. This light-colored rug with a  green pattern would stand out nicely against a dark wood floor. It is made of wool, so it might not be the best choice for the kitchen, but what the heck, it’s only a mood board. The rug is from a sale on Joss and Main.

So, what do you think of my choices? Do you get tired of seeing the same thing in design magazines over and over again? Have you fallen out of love with white subway tile and white cabinets?

Leave a Reply

