Door Decor Dud

This is the first ever Remember Wren craft challenge. We decided it would be fun to come up with some ground rules for a craft project and see what we both come up. In this installment we both made decorations for our front doors. Here’s a link to Mary Claire’s project.

Mary Claire and I thought that in an effort to be different we would do a non-round front door decoration. Translation: no round wreath. Okay, no problem. Then I decided I didn’t want to use artificial flowers because I don’t decorate with them in my house. They just aren’t my cup of tea. So now what? I went shopping at Michael’s with an absolutely blank slate. If you had given me $30 and set a timer for 30 minutes, it would have been a great set up for a reality show. Top Chef at Whole Foods meets Design Star, I guess.

I paced the aisles and quickly ruled out any hanging sign with our name on it like “Lease Haus”. It isn’t that I didn’t think it was a good idea, I just didn’t want to hand letter a sign and when I priced wood-cut letters, well I thought the price would add up too quickly.

Then I saw some decorative balls like what you’d find in a big bag of potpourri. There was one bag with teal balls and another bag with magenta, two of my favorite colors, but each bag was $15. I didn’t want to spend $30 on balls and still not have a way to hang them. At this point in the story I’m going to rename my balls “bulbs” because, well, balls just sounds silly and I think of too many inappropriate jokes. I’m trying to keep it PG,  plus the light bulb went off over my head when I remembered how I liked the bulbs I hung on our front door at Christmas.

Christmas Decor

So, I’d make my own bulbs and hang them from my wreath hanger. Easy, peasy lemon squeezy. I picked up some Styrofoam balls, a spool of burlap ribbon and one artificial flower. I thought if I glued the flower petals to a bulb, it would make for an interesting texture. I already had craft paint at home to add color. Gluing fabric petals to Styrofoam was a no go. The fabric absorbed the glue before it had a chance to set, so it just wouldn’t stick. A different adhesive may have worked, but this cheapskate really wanted to use only what I already had on hand.

I wrapped two of the bulbs with yarn, which was pretty easy. No glue involved since I managed to tuck and twist the yarn so it would stay in place. I cut pieces of burlap and glued them with Elmer’s glue. Modge Podge probably would have worked better, but I didn’t have any. I used rubber bands to make a  pattern on one bulb and just painted the other two bulbs.

decorative bulbs

It turns out making the bulbs was much easier than figuring out how to hang them. I really wanted to use the burlap ribbon and I didn’t have anything else that seemed to go with the style of my bulbs. I found teal satin ribbon and figured I could use it as a loop to attach to the burlap. I had to use thumbtacks to secure the ribbon to the bulbs, but the tacks wouldn’t stay in the bulbs so I had to hot glue them. Then it took my a while to figure out how to secure the bulbs on the burlap. I finally decided to use a strip of the burlap to tie the satin ribbon to the burlap. I actually tried safety pins and that was a terrible idea because they wouldn’t stay in place thanks to the wide gaps in the burlap.

Jen's Door Decor

Anyway, I hung this on the front door and soon discovered that it stunk. No, I mean it literally stunk. I used a satin finish top coat on the bulbs and it was really stinky, especially when the space between my front door and screen door got hot, which it does nearly every morning when the sun is shining. Then the weather finally got so hot out that the glue wouldn’t stick anymore and some of my bulbs fell off the ribbon. Needless to say, this decoration isn’t stinking up my front door anymore. If I had to give myself a grade for this project, I’d say B for originality and F for execution. What is that, a C- or D+ average?

I guess in the future I won’t be so critical of unoriginal front door décor because, damn, it is hard to have a great idea and execute it well. When it was all said and done it would have been less time-consuming to find something cute on Etsy. I spent $20 and it looks like crap. Next time I’d be happy to spend $40 and have something nice.

One thought on “Door Decor Dud

  1. I thought your idea was great. I know what you mean actually putting it together is the rough part! Glad you felt the same as I did about his project. Now that we have one “challenge” under our belt we’ll have to see what we can come up with for the next one!!

Leave a Reply

