Another Two Feet

Last week I promised a post about the trees in our backyard, but they have not been cut down yet. The contractor showed up at 4pm the day scheduled and took one look at my three trees and said they didn’t have time! Their earlier job took longer than expected. Ugh! It has been raining every day this week, so who knows when it will be rescheduled.

Last week I wrote about my lottery house, which isn’t even a McMansion. It’s basically a contemporary version of a Craftsman bungalow.

So why do we all have a “dream” house? Because our current living situation just isn’t working for us. For some it could be that you don’t have hardwood floors or two sinks in the master bathroom, granite countertops, yadda, yadda, yadda. The area where my house is really lacking is in the layout of the hardest working areas. I simply don’t like how the garage, kitchen and laundry room are oriented. In my last post I said I thought our floor plan was designed by a disgruntled employee or an unpaid intern. Most likely it was designed by someone who doesn’t do housework and was asked to fit a certain size house on a certain size lot for maximum profit.

Our Floor Plan

If I ever get a chance to hire an architect, or if I use a real estate agent to find another house, my first request will be unusual. Three bedroom, two bath? Okay, but what I really want is a garage that has direct access to the backyard. Do you know how many times certain members of my family have dragged lawn equipment through my house? Usually after I’ve cleaned, of course! For our house the solution could be a shed in the backyard, but I’m not sure where we’d put it. We’ll see how that evolves.

Walking Rake

So, my dream house garage would have access to the backyard and after I park my car with a trunk full of groceries, I would walk into a BIG mudroom where there is actual room for shoe, coat, and bag storage and a place to set packages.

My new mudroom would flow into the kitchen and somehow be connected to a laundry room that is big enough to also use for craft projects/sewing, a hub for most of the work done in a house.

This isn’t too much to ask for is it? My mom actually has this kind of space in her house, which was built in the 1950’s. It just happens to be in the basement next to the garage. Her inconvenience is she has to drag the groceries upstairs to the kitchen. My brother has a house that meets all these requirements! So jealous! I wish I had some pictures to share.

The entry to my house from the garage is what I’d call a laundry hall. I hate it!

laundry room

It would be so much more tolerable if it was just two feet wider. Then maybe I could put in a bench with storage below and hooks above for coats, etc. If my house was two feet wider even my master bathroom would be greatly improved. Our toilet wouldn’t take up half of the space in front of the tub/shower. Two feet!

Two Feet

I can’t believe I just put a picture of my feet on my blog! Desperate for a clever graphic, I guess.

This two feet plagued me in the last house we owned too. The builder of that house had to take two feet out of the floor plan so the house would fit within the easements on the lot. We lost two feet of our laundry room and garage in our old house. I don’t think our current floor plan lost two feet, I’m pretty sure it never existed because there are a handful of other houses in our neighborhood with the same floor plan.

So, we drag groceries into our house from the car in the garage and we have to walk to the other side of the house where the kitchen is.

Garage to Kitchen

I know I’m being a major complainer, but can’t architects and designers think about these simple conveniences when they design houses?

Whether you walk in the front door or the garage door, you have to walk to the center of the house to find the coat closet! How stupid is that? It’s a great place to put the vacuum, but that’s about it. I guess the architect figured he’d just split the difference between the front door and garage. Groan. When my son can’t find his shoes, he has about a zillion place to look (his closet, the coat closet, the laundry room, the front door, the back door). It would be nice if we could cut down the shoe collection spots to three instead of five.

There won’t be any major remodeling of the floor plan in this house, so I’ll have to make do with what I have. I’ll try to sneak some convenient storage into that laundry room and I’ll add some near the front door too. Any crafts or sewing will hopefully take place in our guest bedroom that will also double as a kid’s hangout room for playing video games, etc. Our house isn’t that big, so not having a working hub isn’t a big deal because I don’t have that far to go. Gosh, it sure would be nice though.

Ahhh, that’s more like it. Just imagine the mudroom behind the camera and the doorway to the kitchen next to it. Was the floor plan of your house designed by an intern too? How do you compensate for the inconveniences?

One thought on “Another Two Feet

  1. I really do like your dream home. Wow that is a pain! That is quite a hassle I’m sure when you have groceries to unpack! It doesn’t really make sense that it would be planned this way. I guess you’ll have to get creative with you laundry space. We had one just like that in a house we rented. It was kinda a pain but good if the kids came home dirt you could just throw everything in the wash!!

Leave a Reply

