My Lottery House

Today is the day the trees in our backyard will be cut down. I’m so sad to see them go. I’ll give you a complete report with before and after pictures next week. In the meantime, since nothing much is happening inside our house, I thought I’d do some daydreaming. After all, that is why we’re all addicted to Houzz.

I sometimes wonder what I would do if my house burned down, or I won the lottery and I could rebuild from scratch, start from nothing (sorry house, I love you, but I’d drop you in a minute if the house equivalent of Jon Hamm came along). I’m pretty sure I’d hire an architect and supply her with lots of pictures.

Maybe it’s easier to start with what you don’t like. For me it would be a super formal mansion behind a gate. I’m just not that kind of person. If this is your dream house, I’m really sorry, but we’re talking about my dream here, so I would tell an architect I want the opposite of this:

When I think of my dream house the words that come to mind are friendly, casual, relaxed, earthy. I’d tell the architect my favorite house style of all time is a Craftsman bungalow. Something like this:

Don’t you want to sit on that front porch? I love the tapered columns and exposed beams. I also really like all of the woodwork on the inside of Craftsman homes. Then I’d probably really confuse the situation by adding that I also love what I call Organic Modern houses like this one:

I like the cedar shake siding and the dark window trim. I bet the inside of this house gets great light with all those windows and there is a rooftop garden!

Maybe a hybrid of my two favorite house styles would be something like this:

I also like this house:

I have realized that most of my “dream houses” on Houzz seem to be located in Texas, California, Oregon, or Washington. It must be that casual, outdoorsy lifestyle that appeals to me.

Here in the Lowcountry of South Carolina, this style of house is growing on me.

Isn’t that wraparound porch charming?

So, I wonder what an architect would come up with if I handed her these pictures. When I think of my dream home, I don’t just imagine the outside and the curb appeal. I think of the floor plan and how well it would function for our lifestyle, but I’ll leave that list of must-haves for another post.

For now, I’m enjoying our home even though I’m fairly certain it was designed by an unpaid intern or a disgruntled employee.

This entry was posted in Decorating, Home Improvement & Maintenance and tagged , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

One thought on “My Lottery House

  1. I think we are in the same page dream house wise. I liked all of those and enjoy the same features you spoke of. I really like houses where the inside connects to the outside and I don’t just mean by a door way but the feel of the house. That is my main wish for my dream home. It’s fun to dream!

Leave a Reply

