Remember Wren Field Trip: New York City

My family and I finally took a bite out of the Big Apple and it was good, really good! We trekked on up to New York during Spring Break. First we stopped to visit family in Albany for a couple of days and then we drove to Manhattan. That’s right, we drove right up to our hotel on West 35th St. Jeromy says he’ll never do that again! Here is the view from our hotel room window.

Empire State Building

The Empire State Building was lit up in blue that evening for autism awareness.

In a stroke of good luck, we were able to attend the NIT basketball semifinals at Madison Square Garden. My Iowa Hawkeyes were playing on one of the two nights we were staying in the city. It was such an amazing coincidence and I was so excited to go. It was a prime time for an embarrassing mom moment. Just look at Josh’s expression as I show my Hawkeye chest.

Hawkeyes at Madison Square Garden

It isn’t a family vacation unless mom is embarrassing. The other Iowa connection for us in NYC is my nephew. He and his wife live just outside the city and they were able to take us out for dinner. It is a special bonus when you have family you can visit in an amazing place.

Besides Times Square the tourist center of the city has to be Rockefeller Center.

Rockefeller Center

I don’t know about you, but when I see this building I hear the theme song to 30 Rock in my head. I think I see Jack Donaghy’s office.

Here’s the view from the top of the building. On this side you have amazing views of Central Park. On the other side you can see The Empire State Building.

Top of the Rock

Jeromy and I took a break on the plaza. Josh took this picture. Pretty good.

Jeromy & Jen

Don’t I look like Liz Lemon? Right, if Tina Fey was 40 pounds heavier. Anyway, as we toured around the city we kept thinking of various movies and TV shows that took place there. I really wanted to hit the hood of a taxi cab while walking through a cross walk and yell, “I’m walking here, I’m walking here!” If you can name the movie that line is from in the comment section, you’ll get a Remember Wren gold feather.

Our tour bus drove by The Dakota, John Lennon’s home when he was killed. I think the architecture is interesting. There is more variety in building styles in NYC than I expected.

The Dakota

Here is The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

The Guggenheim

It seemed so much smaller in person. I had only seen it in movies before and the inside looks huge on-screen, but in person, the outside was dwarfed by surrounding  buildings.

I have to say it was a very memorable visit. Since we were only in the city for less than 48 hours, we really only skimmed the surface. I think we rode a tour bus through nearly every major neighborhood from The Battery to Harlem. I can’t wait to go back and dive deeper into New York City. I would love to walk the blocks of the Upper East Side imagining the interiors of those penthouse apartments you see in Architectural Digest. There are many art and design museums I’m dying to visit. Oh and there is a little jewelry store on Fifth Avenue that is calling my name.

After we left New York, we drove down to Washington DC and enjoyed another brief but special visit. Jeromy and I lived near DC before Josh was born and we’ve played tourist there many times. We went back so Josh would remember it this time. Here we are in front of The White House.

Lease Family 2013

And here we are when Josh was one year old in 2005.

Lease Family 2005

Holy crap, don’t we look different! I like my hair better now. Jeromy should shave. I keep telling him that.

The cherry blossoms were in full bloom back in 2005.

Josh and Jen 2005

The trees were suppose to be at peak the following day in this photo.

Josh and Jen 2013

I don’t know, these pictures pretty much leave me speechless.

So, that was our Spring vacation. Don’t you think travelling gives you great creative inspiration? I get excited to start new projects when I see great architecture and beautiful artwork. Travelling also makes me grateful to be back at home.

4 thoughts on “Remember Wren Field Trip: New York City

  1. I loved reading about your trip! You got to do a lot in a short amount of time. We also like to take the kids to places we’ve been before and share it with them. It makes it so much fun. Also I lived seeing the different photos of you guys with baby Josh and now. So cool.

  2. That’s a really beautiful picture of NYC that you took from the plaza. It looks like you had a really fun family vacation! I hope I get the opportunity to visit NYC someday.

Leave a Reply

