The Tabletop Tango

Happy Spring! Happy Easter! Spring wants to arrive here in South Carolina. The tulips in front of our house are blooming, but there still have been freeze warnings every night this week so I haven’t done any gardening yet.

P1040264

You can tell from my bare front porch that we’re waiting another week or so. The pollen has been out in full force though. My new bench is just covered with it. The confused weather and pollen hasn’t put me in a hurry to decorate out here.

Front Porch

You can see Buster, the newest member of our family, in the doorway. He’s a little rascal. My son named him and we’re finding out what a good name Buster is for this dog. He likes to bust out of his crate and he’s been busting up some of my decorative items around the house.

Chewed Up Basket

He really likes to chew up natural fibers like the handle on this basket or the pine cones I had on our dining room table. I came home to this one morning.

Buster Did It

Buster was feeling guilty because as soon as I saw the table, he was under it with his sorry little head peeking out. I wish I could have gotten a picture of it. It’s so hard to be mad at a dog who is so cute.

Maybe Buster doesn’t like my centerpiece, or maybe he likes it too much. Either way, it is time for a change and World Market just happened to have table linens on sale this week. The special advertised was 20% off. On the day I shopped patterned linens were 50% off and I had a $10 off coupon if I spent $40. No problem! Just look at my receipt. I feel like I won the World Market lottery.

World Market Lottery

I really feel like I won when my total savings were more than the total spent. Ka-ching! So, here is one of the options I picked out, a new table runner and napkins. I also snatched up the cake stand. I’ve had my eye out for one for a while now.

New Linens

I grabbed some of my dad’s wood carvings out of my curio cabinet. You might recognize the wren. She’s the mascot of our blog.

Centerpiece

I just threw this arrangement together. I don’t ever set a formal table top. We don’t have fancy china or crystal. I only have one set of dishes and most of our glasses are from IKEA or bars. We’re pretty casual around here.

I also picked up the gorgeous embroidered table runner. It has such beautiful colors in it. I imagine it would be perfect for a tea party.

New Linens 2

I had a really tough time coming up with a centerpiece though. My tulips out front would be perfect for the vase, but I didn’t want to cut them because it is the only color we have outside right now. Had I been thinking, I could have picked up some cut flowers at the grocery store. I also could have used my new cake stand to display a nice selection of cupcakes. I think food or flowers make the best arrangements!

This is how the table top looks right now. I don’t think there is anything there that Buster would like to eat.

Table Top Now

I’m still on the hunt for more decorative items for the table top. Oh and someday I really would love to get some Fiestaware in a variety of colors. Wouldn’t that look festive with this table runner?

How do you like to set your dining table? Do you prefer formal place settings or are you casual and mix it up like I do?

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

One thought on “The Tabletop Tango

  1. I love your new table linens. Way to go on finding such great deals! It definitely looks like spring at your place now! I feel the same way with the outside. I can’t wait till it really feels like spring weather wise! It’s seems like this year we’re having to wait a while!

Leave a Reply

