A Snowy Day

I can’t really believe it but it is snowing again here in Texas! We actually had a white Christmas this year and as unbelieveable as that was this snow today really caught us by surprise. So much so that they didn’t call a snow day or a delay. It was business as usual. I think the business as usual was just what happened when we found ourselves totally caught off guard. So both kids are in school despite the snowy weather. Where is the fun in that? Boo.

sock1

Anyway, here’s what I’ve been up to in the new year. I guess this could be considered my first project in 2013. I don’t know what happened but I found myself in the mood to knit.

knit 1

My daughter could really use something warm to wear on her feet with the cold temps we’ve had lately. We have a lot of tile on the floors in our house so the floor gets very chilly! So I searched through my knitting books and found this pattern from the book Cute Knits for Baby Feet by Sue Whitting. Even though the title says “baby” some of the sock patterns go up to a four year old size.

knit 3

I had knit her a similar pair from another book but she had outgrown them. That pattern only went up to size 2T or something like that but somehow she had managed to squeeze her foot into them all this time. So I figured I would just use the same pattern and just size them up some how either using bigger needles/yarn and or casting on more stitches. But then I remembered I had this book and flipped through to see what I could find and here was basically the same pattern.

This was a fast project as children’s socks knit up quickly. I’ve already finished one minus the flower detail. The great thing about this was that I already had the needles and the yarn in my stash. At least I hope I have enough. It may be dicey on the lighter pink for the second one. We’ll see.

On a side note as I was looking for this pattern it hit me that it is funny the way watching your children grow up can take you by surprise sometimes. You look around and bam – they are in elementary school and those preschool days that seemed to last FOREVER really just flew by. It makes you sad realizing that this is the ultimate truth of childhood. It is fleeting. But now I find myself reminded of their growing up in the weirdest ways. This time it was through my knitting books. I first started knitting when I was pregnant with my son- nine years ago. So the beginning of my knitting book collection reflects this with lots of knitting for baby books.

This was fine for a while as about 4 years later his sister came along and I could just use the patterns in the book for his sister. But now as even she has grown out of the baby knitting books it makes me sad thinking I won’t really be able to use these books much except for the occasional friend that might have a baby or gasp – eventually my own grandchildren?! Ok, that is a ways off but still it makes you realize time marches on – sigh.

And speaking of time marching on…here is what I am thinking about project wise for the next year. It like this post is a bit of a mish mash. So humor me.

On the agenda for 2013:

  • finish my husband’s quilt that is hanging by completed rows in my sewing room
  • sew doll clothes for daughter’s 18 inch doll – inspired by this post (even though it is for a bear) – love the gold suitcase!
  • some more home decor sewing – a bench cushion and maybe some new curtains?
  • maybe get back into handbag sewing?
  • sew some quilt blocks from the “free” Craftsy block of the month class from 2012
  • build a doll bed? from this site
  • improve my alteration skills – (also a new skill picked up from a Craftsy class)

These are just some rough ideas I have in store for the next year. It is always interesting to see the twists and turns my sewing/knitting and other crafty endeavors take as the year progresses. Now that I have a blog hopefully it will all be documented so that I can see how it all sorts out.

So what about you? What do you have planned for 2013?

One thought on “A Snowy Day

  1. Glad to see you were inspired to knit thanks to this cold weather you are having. The warm weather must be why I haven’t even thought about knitting this winter. I have really only knit scarves and it just isn’t cold enough in SC for a knit scarf. Your projects for 2013 sound awesome. I would love to know how to make a cushion, so you have to make one! I need to get on Craftsy and see what I can learn. Hopefully my year won’t just be doing ceilings and painting!

Leave a Reply

