Window Dressing

This week I struggled a bit to figure out what I should post about. Even with the holidays, we’ve managed to accomplish a lot around the house lately and it was hard for me to know where to start. So, I guess when in doubt, I’ll just go back to the beginning.

Shortly after Thanksgiving I finally got around to using my new sewing machine for the first time. If you remember from this post, I recently purchased a Brother XR1300. I was very intimidated by the quilting features. All of the types of stitches are illustrated on the machine, which kinda freaked me out.

sewing machine

However, once I sat down and reviewed the Quick Reference Guide, I was up and stitching in no time. This machine is a breeze to use. I just kept humming along while I made my new dining room curtains. Ta dah!

Dining Room Curtains

I especially appreciate the drop-in bobbin, which is a huge improvement over my old sewing machine. The stitches are nice and neat and I didn’t have to make any adjustments. I just did a test run first with a scrap piece of the same fabric and I was off to the races.

P1040136

Now that I’m no longer intimidated by my new machine, I really wish I had more sewing projects lined up. Maybe I’ll make my old curtains into a table runner for the new dining table I have on order. Hmmmmm . . .

P.S. Did you notice anything different in the picture of my new curtains? There is a small view of our most recent dirty/dusty project.

This entry was posted in Decorating, Sewing and tagged , , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

Leave a Reply

