Deckin’ the Halls

First of all, my apologies for not posting last week. I certainly had something I could have written about, but my dear hubby took the camera with him to Hawaii, so haven’t been able to take decent pictures of my brand new dining room curtains. That reveal will have to wait until after the holidays.

In the meantime, I used my phone to take a few snaps of how I decorate for Christmas. Our mantel is decorated with snowmen I purchased in Germany, a sweetgrass weaving my son made at school, and some mementos from when we lived in Alaska. I like mixing these rustic items with elegant and sparkly bulbs in a glass vase. Nice and simple.

wpid-2012-12-13_13-55-35_532.jpg

Our Christmas tree is a real mix of ornaments. A couple of years ago I decided to go with an aqua blue and red color scheme and since then I’ve added some colorful glass ornaments I collected in Germany. We also made some crystal ornaments thanks to a Mythbusters science project and we have some wood ornaments my dad made. I’m hoping to snatch up a larger tree at Target on Dec. 26. Maybe next year we’ll have two trees!

image

My dining table is really small, so I keep the tabletop really simple. I just filled a glass bowl with ornaments and pine cones. Again, I like the elegant and rustic combination and I managed to work in my aqua and red color scheme.

image

My front door decoration could use a little refinement. You can totally tell it is homemade. I purchased new ribbon and somehow it came off the spool all wrinkled! I was too lazy to iron it when I started the project and thought I’d do it later. Yah, right! I stole this idea from something I saw at Target. I just tied bulbs to ribbon cut at varying lengths and tied those ribbons all together to hang from my wreath hanger. I like it.

image

I guess my Christmas style goes along with how I decorate all year round. I keep it simple and colorful while mixing rustic and elegant elements.

This entry was posted in Decorating by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

One thought on “Deckin’ the Halls

  1. Very pretty! I especially love the swag you made and all the colorful ornaments on the tree and in glass containers. I too love the rustic/elegant combo. Can’t wait to see the curtains!!!

Leave a Reply

