Bake, Sew, Recycle!

Ok, so the Ninjas didn’t turn out exactly as I expected. But, initially things looked promising. These guys looked like they could kick some booty.

121

But once they were baked…well let’s just say we had some fat little ninjas.

125

I just used the refrigerated pre-made sugar cookie dough from the store because I was in a hurry and kinda crossed my fingers. They ended up puffing up and it gave them a rotund appearance. Not exactly what I was going for! Next time I’ll have to take the time to make the dough that is specifically designed for making cookie cutouts and hopefully they’ll turn out a lot better!

123

Oh and as for the pop rocks it was a fun thought but the moisture from the cookies makes the pop rocks “pop” in the oven. So all you are left with on the cookie is the candy crunch.

In other Christmas news though… I made a new Christmas tree skirt.

ct

This one was very easy. I just used burlap and pom-pom fringe and sewed the fringe around the edge. I used one of my old Christmas tree skirts as a pattern for cutting out the burlap.

This is definitely something that could be made without any sewing. If you are short on time or short on a sewing machine I think you could probably glue the fringe to a circle of burlap and have the same effect.

cts

The only down side that I’ve found with burlap is the fraying factor. But that is definitely something you can work around. It is a fabric medium that calls for a more rustic look a.k.a. it isn’t going to look perfect. It is sort of like linen in that way as it kind of has a rumpled look. But I like that due to this quality it can be dressed up or down. You could experiment with lots of different kinds of trim for different effects. Let me know what you come up with!

Now, on to after school projects of the Christmas sort. This afternoon as I was helping my son assemble some candy to share with his classmates in their “stockings” at school. I was needing to make some tags for his candy favors and I wanted to use something that I already had around the house.

I used a gift tag cut out punch that I had on hand. Just cutting it out on red card stock seemed boring. It was also too dark of a surface on which to write. So I scrounged around in a box I keep of old paper scraps and found some Christmas cards we had been sent a few Christmases ago. So I used those to punch out the tags instead.

019

I think they turned out cute. So we were able to recycle and get free gift tags to boot.

023

One of the interesting things I discovered while doing this was that even if the card had a large scene that didn’t scream cute gift tag material at first glance once I cut them up into the actual tags the few pieces of the scene that did end up on the tag were enough to make it look just right.

024

So even if you have cards that don’t seem like they would make great tags you may be surprised once you start cutting them out. Oh and another bonus is that since there usually isn’t any writing on the inside front of a Christmas card your tag will be blank on the back and you won’t even be able to tell that it was recycled!

So, do you have burlap or old Christmas cards laying around? Maybe it will be just the thing to help you save time and energy during this busy season by saving you another trip to the store! Look around you may be surprised at what you find and what you can do!

One thought on “Bake, Sew, Recycle!

  1. My goodness, you’ve been busy. So, did the Pop Rocks sound like snap, crackle, pop in your oven? And your ninjas gained weight! That is kinda funny. Josh and I plan on making Christmas cookies this weekend, so I’ll put in the extra effort and make the dough from scratch. Also have to make the right kind of frosting that sets up hard. I love your Christmas tree! The recycling Christmas cards idea is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

