Remember Wren Book Review: Young House Love

I’m still working on the bathroom, y’all! I’ve been a bit slowed down by my indecision regarding a new light fixture and weather that isn’t spray painting friendly. Bummer. Hopefully I’ll have pictures and a big reveal after Thanksgiving.

So, the timing is perfect for Remember Wren’s first ever book review! Hooray! I’m a huge fan of the blog Young House Love by Sherry and John Petersik. I’d love to say they are friends of mine, but really I just stalk their website, never really contributing to the comments. Anyway, since I’m a big fan, I preordered their book, Young House Love: 243 Ways To Paint, Craft, Update & Show Your Home Some Love on Amazon.com and it arrived four days before the official release date! I can honestly say I did a little dance when it arrived at my doorstep.

Young House Love

Look at that. I already have my favorite projects marked with post-it notes. I don’t buy a lot of craft or decorating books like my friend, Mary Claire, but since the Petersik’s and I have a similar design philosophy, I figured there would be a lot of great projects and inspiration in this book that would appeal to me. I was not disappointed!

There were a couple of projects like using tin ceiling tile as a backsplash and using wallpaper to back bookshelves that I had already done. Great minds really do think alike. There weren’t any projects that made my eyes roll, which is a big accomplishment. I sometimes give myself an eye rolling headache while scrolling through Pinterest.

The section I find most helpful is Chapter 6, Hang: Artsy Ideas. They suggest cutting out the shape of your homestate from decorative paper and framing it as art. I already have the perfect frame to house our family’s three home states. Another is as simple as framing something that makes you smile. Maybe a ticket to a favorite concert? I’ve got a shoe box full of memorabilia that would work.

I think the best inspiration is the overall theme of the book, which is to make Your house, Your home. They are also very clear that as two self professed, “DIY dorks,” they too make mistakes and sometimes it takes them a really long time to finish a project. I find that to be all the inspiration I need to keep chuggin’ along with my house. If Sherry and John can do it, I can too!

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

5 thoughts on “Remember Wren Book Review: Young House Love

  1. I haven’t checked this one out yet but guess what? Tomorrow they’re a comin’ to Dallas!! I’m hoping to go and drag Shaun with me. Do you want me to get Sherry to sign a ceramic animal for ya? We’ll see if I get to go. Fingers crossed.

  2. I love their blog too. I wanted to go see them so bad but I think I would get tongue tied and turn about a million shades of red. Yeah not a pretty site so for now I will live vicariously through you.

    • I wish their book tour would come to my area. Hopefully my blog partner will get to see them in Dallas. I think I’d pretty much embarrass myself if I met them, but they’re such good sports, they probably wouldn’t mind.

      • My parents ended up arriving Friday afternoon after driving for 2 days to get here so as much as I wanted to go I felt bad leaving them (with two kids) to go to the book signing. But I’m kicking myself now as I think it would have been really fun.

Leave a Reply

