A Brother for My Birthday!

No, not that kind of brother. I have a new sewing machine y’all! A Brother XR 1300 that I picked up at Costco for $167. It sells for $220 on Amazon.com, so I feel like I stole it. We’ll see if I still feel that way after I’ve actually tried to use it.

I just took it out of the box. The instruction manual is big enough that they just went ahead and did a separate one for Spanish. There is also a sticker on the top of the machine with a 1-800 number to call customer service, not to mention an instructional DVD. That isn’t intimidating or anything. The message I’m receiving here is “this machine will frustrate you.” I shouldn’t be scared off though. The last sewing machine I had was in Germany and it didn’t even have English instructions. I was a first timer then and I managed to figure that out.

Wish me luck with the new sewing machine everybody. I’m gonna need it. You’ll know if I succeed in figuring it out if I ever get around to hanging new curtains in the dining room.

Has anyone else been intimidated by a new sewing machine, or maybe a different DIY/decorating tool?

This entry was posted in Decorating, Sewing and tagged by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

3 thoughts on “A Brother for My Birthday!

  1. I have a fairly new Brother, I find it very intuitive. I’v had this machine for a year or so and I still have to refer to the handbook now and then. Have Fun!
    The item that most frustrates is my serger. When the tension is right I love him, generally that’s not the case and I spend forever adjusting …

  2. I went from a Brother LS2125 to a singer 6160 model i recieved for christmas, i was so intimidated but i used basic stitches at first then after a week or so moved on to the heirloom stitches, i love my new machine, but having so many more features available all of a sudden can be scary

  3. Yay!! Can’t wait to see what all you make!! I bet you’ll have it up and sewing in no time!! If it does frustrate you though – just get up and walk away. There’s nothing worse than fighting with your machine. Then once you’ve both cooled down all will be better!! Good luck and have fun!

Leave a Reply

