Tangled up in Halloween

This is just a quick post to share my Halloween costume progress. I usually don’t make Halloween costumes because there is too much pressure. I don’t work well with a fixed due date for sewing projects. However, my daughter has been requesting this costume for a while.

Note to self: Do not try to impress your 4 year old demando with a Halloween costume. She won’t be impressed. I keep getting “This isn’t right” “That’s not right”. Also I think Texas has rubbed off on her. She keeps wanting to bling it up. “More sparkles!”…”More shiny see through bedazzled fabric!”. Despite her demands I’m trying to keep it tasteful and in keeping with the original cartoon character. Did I just say that? Trying to make a costume look like a cartoon costume can set you up for some disappointment. Oh well setting yourself up for disappointment is half the fun, right?

I used Simplicity pattern 2065. Mainly it is good for the bodice only as their skirt is way too full. We’ll have to see what I can come up with for the bottom. Actually, half of my directions were in English and half were in French so the pattern wasn’t much help at all!

I finished the bodice and sleeves. I still need to add the lace around the neckline so don’t mind those pins. So far so good. I hope I don’t jinx myself by posting this too soon! Here’s hoping the bottom half will turn out ok as well! Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Tangled up in Halloween

  1. Mary Claire, I’m so impressed! That’s a lot of detail. This will have to be a “dress up” dress until she out grows it. Love, Susie

  2. “Demando.” I love it! More sparkles – hilarious! I can just hear it and see it. You are definitely brave for trying to make a custome. For us, this year is another year that I pay full price for a costume. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

