A Few Of My Favorite Things

It has occurred to me that some of my recent posts have sounded like they were written by Debbie Downer. What is with all this whining about fences, ugly offices and no money to do anything? Yeesh! I’m really an optimistic, cheerful person. Really. Things that get on my nerves don’t keep me down for long. So, I thought I would share with you some of the things around my house that I love, my favorite things.

I already wrote about my dad’s bird carvings here. My newest most favorite things are my new dining room light fixtures. I’m not going to show you those yet, because they will be part of my first ever real Before and After post that I will share with you next week.

These are a few of my favorite things . . .

Thing 1

The lamp is new. I bought it for $40 at Kirklands. I just couldn’t pass it up because I love the shape and color. I’ve been admiring the mercury glass look for a while now and the combination of the silver with the nubby linen shade is just the sort of contrast I’m totally diggin’. The Chinese garden stool is the bomb. I think I paid about $40 for that too at Target on clearance a few years back. It might seem odd to include a faucet in a favorite things post, but if I showed you the other faucets in this house, you’d understand. This is the only one we’ve replaced so far. I like the contemporary take on a classic design. The mother of pearl on the canister and picture frame shows how I like decor with natural materials, plus it adds a little beach vibe since we are close to the coast.

Thing 2

Yup, that is a small wood tray. Seems like another odd item to include, but I love the rustic wood finish. I’m hoping to add more of an organic modern feel to the house. The beautiful glass vase was a gift from friends in Germany. They totally get me. I love glass and the color is perfect. I like how it contrasts with the rustic fishing float. My ceramic teapot is a favorite because of the shape and the color. I seem to have a thing for aqua and ceramics in general. Show me something glossy and brightly colored and I get all googly eyed. You only have to see my KitchenAid mixer to know that is true. I sprang for the mixer the same day hubby brought home a new Harley Davidson motorcycle. Thanks for turning a $300 mixer into a guilt free purchase, sweetie!

So, those are some of my favorite things. What do you have around your house that reflects your personality? What would you keep even if you wanted to do a complete dream makeover?

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

One thought on “A Few Of My Favorite Things

  1. I like this post! I think my favorite of your favorite things is the new lamp and those mother of pearl type objects. You can definitely see your love of tourquiose here. That’s one of my favorite colors too!! This could be a fun jumping off point for a decorating project – inspiration from your favorite things. I guess it sorta was as you said you have a before/after coming up. Can’t wait to see it!!

Leave a Reply

