Design Dictator

I believe in democracy. I do, I really do. I just don’t care for it much in my house. It would be so much easier if my hubby and son would just listen to my opinion and go along with it. But, alas they are individuals with their own ideas, wants and needs. It frustrates me to no end, but then I remind myself that this is their home and it should function well for their needs too. I groaned as I typed that. I’m very reluctant, but I know it is the right way to think and do.

I used to watch a HGTV show called Designing for the Sexes hosted by Michael Payne. Apparently the show is still on, but with a new host. I loved the show because compromise actually worked to come up with a design that both people loved. Michael Payne was a miracle worker. I would give him a call, but I’m the designer in this house. I can figure out what everyone wants and find a design solution.

Decorating my son’s room is challenging. He’s a collector, just like his dad. Actually, my guys are really pack rats, but I’ll use “collectors” just to be more diplomatic. The little dude wants all of his Lego creations on display. He also seems to have very firm opinions on where he wants things hung on his walls. I have found it less stressful if I just let go. I work with his ideas and try to give it the best presentation possible. Here is his room.

Joshua's Room

His room is still a work in progress, basically just moved in and all unpacked. We’ll probably be upgrading his furniture and get him a bigger bed one day. He hasn’t decided for sure if he wants to keep the orange walls or go with a different color. Orange was really his 5 and 6 year old color. He’s liking blue more these days.

So, we hung these shelves so he’d have a place to display his Lego creations. There was quite a bit of debate on whether they should go side by side, or one on top of the other. I like it this way since it frees up more wall space for other things like his Bakugan collection, which he doesn’t even play with anymore, but never mind that.

When we cleaned up and organized his room, I put this green clothes hamper in his closet, out of sight out of mind. His clothes tended to pile up in this spot, so he moved the hamper out of the closet to the place where he likes to throw his dirty clothes. Pretty smart. Why fight it?

The other room in the house where I have to compromise is the office. This room is the reason why when I win the lottery and hire an architect to build my dream house, there will be separate offices for hubby and me. The big dude is a techie so there are always computer parts and cables all over the place. It bugs me to no end, but I remind myself that the big dude’s interest in computers pays the bills. Here’s what the office looks like today.

Office Collage

Ohhh, brother! This mess is urgent. We have a severe shortage of furniture and storage in there. The extra large cabinet we brought back with us from Germany didn’t survive the move. It hung out in the garage until we had time to put it back together. While it was waiting to be reassembled, it soaked up some rainwater that drained off the car. Predrilled holes in particle board don’t like to get wet. Anyway, I’ll work up a real design plan soon, complete with floor plan and mood board. It will be interesting to see if it gets the big dude’s seal of approval and if I can actually implement it.

Does anyone else struggle with their family when decorating their home? How do  you settle design differences, or are you a design dictator?

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

2 thoughts on “Design Dictator

  1. Well you saw what happened at my house! I arranged the furniture and my kids rearranged it!! So I feel your pain!! I mostly try do do things when no one else is home. Then at least it is the way I want it for a little while!!

  2. No debates on decorating in this house. From the day we got married, we agreed that the inside of the house was my domain, the outside his. It’s not my fault we have no outdoor space for him to control in Germany! As far as the girls, they have great ideas on decorating, so it hasn’t been an issue. I prefer no posters not in frames, but when Kinsey wanted one in our old house, I didn’t fight it since it was her room. I think Josh has done a great job on his!

Leave a Reply

