All Laid Out

I recently went through all of the paperwork we accumulated during our move and got our old and new files all consolidated and organized. In the process I came across the floor plan of our house. It was in the paperwork from the realtor when we first bought the house four years ago. I cleaned it up some and relabeled everything so you could read it more easily. The numbers correspond with the following pictures.

Since we live in the Lowcountry of South Carolina, there is no basement. Other than not having a basement, I’d say this house is just the right size for our family of three. When I was looking for a house with a realtor, I saw ten in one day and this is the only one that felt like home. It just felt right. I like that when you stand near the middle of the house, about where the “6” is in the floor plan, you have an unobstructed view of each of the four outside walls of our house. Even though the house isn’t that big, it feels spacious. The ceilings of the living room and master bedroom are vaulted, so that helps too. While I’d prefer to change every light fixture, faucet, door knob and cabinet handle, I really like most of the things I can’t change such as the floor plan, the size of the yard and the location.

So here are some pictures of how things look around the house since we’ve gotten unpacked and more organized. No major changes or purchases yet. We’ve mostly been organizing, repairing and planning. I’ve also been discovering and exploring local resources for home decor and improvement. It is fun to be a treasure hunter. So here are the pictures:

I’d classify all of these pictures as “before” pictures. I’m too embarassed to even call them “in progress,” but I’ll get there some day. The wall color in all of the rooms will change, except #2, the office. I still love that aqua blue. It is a good thing I love that color, because the rest of the room drives me crazy. I think the office is the most difficult room for me to figure out. Jeromy and I share the space. I’d prefer the office to not look like an office and Jeromy is a tech guy. If it were up to him, it would look like a computer lab. My dream house has separate offices for the two of us, but we’re nice and cozy in this house. My dream house also has backyard access from the garage and a bigger laundry room, but what we have now will do just fine.

I hope that gives you a better idea of the lay of the land around here. I’ll keep you posted as we make improvements. For budget reasons, we’re on a slow and steady pace. There won’t be any dramatic overnight redos around here, but it will be just as fun.

This entry was posted in Decorating by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

Leave a Reply

