Don’t Leave Me Hangin’

A few months ago I promised that I would show you how to create an awesome layout for hanging multiple pictures together on a wall. Since I’m about done hanging pictures around our house, it seemed to be a good idea to get this post over with. Unfortunately, the last set of pictures I had to hang were the most difficult. Guess that is why I saved them for last. I have hung this group many times, but only once in each abode because it is such an unpleasant experience thanks to the back of the frames. Check this out.

Two hooks I have to deal with means double the fun. Then, try and hang this group in some sort of nice arrangement. Well, here’s how I do it each and every time.

1. Assemble tools and pictures.

Picture Hanging Tools

You’ll need a roll of craft paper or brown wrapping paper for a template, measuring tape, level, pencil, painter’s tape, hammer and nails. I once tried using gift wrap for the template because that was all I had handy. Then when I hung the template on the wall, the ink on the gift wrap rubbed off onto the wall. Oops. So, stick to the plain paper, please.

2. Determine layout. Take pictures of a variety of options to compare, then decide which you like best.

I like the one on the left.

3. Layout pictures on the craft paper and trace the edges. At this point make sure the picture frames are evenly spaced and squared up.

Trace Picture Frame

4. Flip the pictures over to measure and mark the placement for the nail hole. For frames with two hooks, remember the hook flips to the other side when you turn the picture over. If you are measuring the hook on the right side of the back of the frame, you need to put the mark on the left side of the template.

Measure Hook Placement

5. Once you’ve marked the placement for all the hooks, tape the template to the wall and adjust for level. This may take a few tries and this is why I use painter’s tape, so the tape doesn’t ruin the wall or stick to the template.

6. Nail through the marks on the template.

Nail Through Marks on Template

7. Remove the template and hang the pictures. Have fun trying to get both hooks on the nails at the same time. I usually curse a lot during this part.

Ta dah!

Now admire your artwork. Also, limit cursing if your assistant is your kid, or anyone else’s kid.

I hope this helps you figure out how to hang pictures on a wall in new and more interesting patterns. Let me know if you have questions, or even better, if you know an easier way to do this!

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Leave Me Hangin’

  1. Is that how you’re supposed to do it? I usually just put a tiny smudge of toothpaste on the hooks, press the picture on the wall to mark my place – job done! but I am, as you know, a lazy slattern!

    • Alison, aren’t you a smarty pants. I’ll have to try that next time. I’m not sure it would work with the stupid cheap floppy double hooks that I had to hang with this grouping. I don’t do the template with everything I hang, just this group because I wanted to get the outside edges lined up right. You should buy a bunch of travel size toothpaste tubes and relabel them as Parker’s Magic Helper, or something more clever, and sell for $10 each!

  2. I think this is a great idea! I never would have thought to hammer the nails right through the paper!! I know I will need to use this technique one day! I think these are the types of posts we need to do more of- thanks for teaching me something new!

Leave a Reply

