My Diabolical Design Plan

I have already shared with you here what our house looked like when we moved in. I also recently gave you a rundown of the repairs and maintenance we had to get caught up on. It seems like it’s about time I started to share my diabolical design plan. I really don’t know what is so diabolical about it. I just like the sound of it, I guess. To say I have a plan is probably an overstatement. Yeesh, not a very good title for a post, but I’m going to stick with it.

For a few years now I’ve been keeping pictures from my favorite design magazines in three ring binders. Yup, I’m that kinda person. I started with just one binder and now I’m up to three. Anywho . . . that is where I keep my inspiration photos from actual magazines.

I also use Pinterest. Sometimes I pin so much in a short amount of time that their program thinks I’m doing some suspicious activity. Nope, I really do like four dining tables from World Market. Houzz is great too. I like it because the pictures are excellent quality since design professionals are sharing their work. A big plus is that the categories are well organized. I’d say I like Pinterest for organizing specific items I’m interested in buying and I like Houzz for choosing pictures for design inspiration.

Below are some dining room pictures I like from Houzz.

Here is a link to my South Carolina House Mood Board on Pinterest.

So, I look through all this inspiration and try to narrow it down to what I like best. What photos, what items really speak to me? What do I really find inspiring and what best reflects my personality? Overall, I’ve realized that I really enjoy a casual style that combines contemporary and traditional furnishings. I’m especially drawn to color and contrast. By contrast, I mean contrast between dark and light, rough and smooth, modern and rustic. If I had to sum up what I’m going for in this house, I’d call it a contemporary cottage with an earthy vibe.

Here are some inspiration pictures I’m really diggin’ right now:

I hope these pictures match up with the my description of my style. Who knows if any of the rooms in our house will actually come close to resembling this style when they’re done. I tend to take a long time to decorate and well, tastes change and style evolves.

I’ll try and share some mood boards for individual rooms in the future, once I figure out how to do that.

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

4 thoughts on “My Diabolical Design Plan

  1. Love all your inspiration photos! I’ve never heard of houzz. May need to check that one out! I think you’ll come up with an amazing plan!!

Leave a Reply

