Decorating Dreams Delayed

So, we’re all unpacked – the stuff that came from Germany, anyway. We still have to empty our local storage unit and bring everything over to the house. We’ll get around to that someday.

In the meantime, we’ve been getting a handle on all of the maintenance we need to catch up on around our cozy cottage. That is how I like to think of our house, cozy cottage. There are some McMansions on the other side of the neighborhood, but we live in a modest ranch style house. It is just the right amount of house for our family.

As I mentioned in a previous post, before I was able to see the house again, I dreamed of painting and replacing the floors right away. Once we were able to finally see our house after 2 1/2 years, we knew those projects would be delayed a while. We had lots of little repair jobs to tackle first and some big landscaping jobs to plan. Oh, this yard needs lots of work.

First of all, we had to find our tools. Jeromy took his tool box to Germany. We unpacked that very quickly. Our box cutters were in it and box cutters are a gal’s best friend on moving day. The yard was quickly becoming overgrown. We had to buy some lawncare equipment like a new lawnmower and edger. We sold those things before we moved to Germany. We were certain at the time that we’d never live in this house again and we wouldn’t need a lawnmover any time soon. I did find my work gloves, so now there is no excuse for me not to get out in the yard. There are lots of weeds to pull out front.

Everyday I keep adding to this immediate To Do List:

Fix guest bathroom drain

Paint trim around garage door

Wash house with 30% bleach solution

Throw out wicker bench

Trim along sidewalk, front porch, driveway and patio

Trim trees

Trim bushes

Put together schrank (a German armoire since there’s no such thing as closets in Germany)

Fit shelves for schrank

Hang curtain rods and curtains (Have to buy a drill to get this one done. Yup, sold that too.)

Hang wall shelves in Josh’s room

Hang wall shelves in office

Repair this laminate countertop and backsplash

Repair unglued laminate cabinets

Clean grout on kitchen and bathroom floors

Measure for new floors

Measure for new countertops & cabinets

Repair eaves above garbage enclosure

Replace burned out oven light bulb

Replace light bulb in front porch fixture

Take down old/rusted shower curtain rod & put up new

Get estimate for repairing/replacing broken fence gates

Fix garage door opener

Well, you get the idea. A few things have been crossed out, but not much. There is enough work to keep us busy around here before we get to the fun stuff like painting and flooring. I dream of a day when I can put some “new to me” furniture in my house. But for now I’m taking some pleasure in fixing, repairing and cleaning MY house.

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

4 thoughts on “Decorating Dreams Delayed

  1. I was feeling all these same things last year about this time. Trying to sort out what we had, no longer had and what was in storage. It’s amazing the things you get rid of that you end up having to re- purchase in the end. That can be frustrating. I’m impressed that you don’t seem daunted by your to do list. I love to make lists but once they’re made I begin to feel overwhelmed!! It sounds like you’re all ready to roll up your sleeves! I look forward to watching your progress!!!

  2. I haven’t seen mine in 4 years Jennifer! I should probably just double the damage huh! Hope you get through it all and don’t lose your sense of humour!

  3. Pingback: My Diabolical Design Plan | rememberwren

Leave a Reply

