Moving Days: 2 1/2 Years Overnight

So, this is what our house and yard look like after being away for 2 1/2 years.

Front Yard

The front yard isn’t bad. It needs trimming around the edges and the trim around the garage door needs to be painted. Things don’t look too bad out front. Let’s see what the inside looks like.

Dining Room

The dining room looks pretty much like I left it. My curtains are still there. The walls all look good. There are a few more scratches on the floor, but that is okay because we want to replace it anyway. I kinda wish that light fixture was gone, but I’ll take care of that later.

Living Room

The living room is still there, like it would have gotten up and walked away. Silly me! The carpet is ten years old and has seen some action from little kids and pets. It’ll be a goner in no time.

Josh's Room

Yup, Josh’s room is still orange and the valance I made with no sew tape is still hanging there.

I won’t bore you with the rest of the bedrooms. They all look okay and make for very boring pictures when they’re empty. Although, this carpet has to go! The bathrooms are okay too.

Shall we look at the kitchen?

Kitchen

Yay! My most awesome Kenmore Trio fridge is still there along with the oven that can fit four cookie sheets at the same time! This kitchen is going to get a workout.

Kitchen floor

Ohhhh, that floor looks bad. The grout is not, NOT suppose to be that color. It should be much, MUCH lighter and blend in with the tile. Ewwwww. I’m gonna have to get down on my hands and knees and fix that.

Kitchen cabinet doors

Ohhhhhhh, man! The surface of my cabinet doors are peeling off! Darn it! Not every door is like this, maybe four or five. Yeesh. I was hoping to “save” these cabinets, but now I know they’re goners too.

Laminate countertops

Holy criminy! My laminate countertops are coming unglued! I think I’m coming unglued too.

I have to get out of here. What does the backyard look like?

Backyard

What in the hell happened to my backyard?

Over grown bushes

The bushes and trees are overgrown, but at least they’re growing, unlike my nonexistant grass!

Washout

I’d say 1/4 to 1/3 of our lawn is gone, washed away. It really looks like there was a river in our backyard what washed away the new sod we put down before we moved out. Balls. Big bouncy balls.

Fence

Our fence needs some repair work, including the gates which are warped and the hardware is tore up. Dang it! It won’t be all flip flops and sundresses for me around here. More like boots and cutoffs!

To sum it up, I think our house went from needing cosmetic changes to a “fixer upper”. In my brain this change took place overnight, but it really is what happens when you don’t live in your own house for 2 1/2 years. All the priorities I had before setting eyes on the house have been thrown out the window. Painting and replacing the floors are simple fixes compared to the work we have cut out for ourselves. Losing a few lbs won’t be a problem because there will be some serious physical labor involved. There is plenty of blog material for the future!

Has anyone else been surprised by the condition of their house after a long absence?

This entry was posted in Decorating, Moving and tagged by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

One thought on “Moving Days: 2 1/2 Years Overnight

  1. Pingback: My Diabolical Design Plan | rememberwren

Leave a Reply

