It Will Work Out. Fingers Crossed. Repeat.

Keeping up with the blog posts while moving is a little harder than I expected. I’m also a bit lost without my own computer and office space, but I’m making do.  Anyway, I’ve got lots on my mind that could eventually turn into a decent post, but right now I’m in the mood to do a brain dump.

My Sister, Kathy, is a DIY Diva!

After visiting my sister Kathy’s home in Manning, Iowa, I’m super impressed with her ingenuity and DIY skills. I’m an extremely embarrassed  blogger because I don’t have any fabulous pictures of her handy work. You’ll just have to take my word for  it. She sews like a madwoman and isn’t afraid to spray paint anything. My hero!

My sister, Kathy, at the zoo.

Nebraska Furniture Mart Blew My Mind!

I recently made a pilgrimage to one of the largest furniture stores in the country, Nebraska Furniture Mart, in Omaha. I used to go there with my mom a lot when I was a kid.  I haven’t been there in at least 13 years, so I was do for a jaw dropping visit. My husband and credit card balance are so lucky our house is a thousand miles away. I coulda loaded up a rental truck with all the good deals I found. Woulda, coulda, shoulda.

My Love Affair with Moving Companies Continues

My best advice for people getting ready to move is it will take longer and be more expensive than you thought. It will. Each and every time, it will be that way. I paid a king’s ransom in Germany for what was supposedly the total cost of the shipment.

Josh had fun climbing on his furniture.

Now that they have my stuff held hostage, we have to fork over even more money to get it delivered. You see, the company in Germany didn’t collect this fee and that fee. Something about the Port of Charleston. Yada yada yada. The company also didn’t give us an update on the arrival date at port. Our shipment arrived and cleared customs last week, but before we knew that, Jeromy had to schedule a trip for work the last week in June. So, now our household goods are sitting in storage waiting until July 6 to be delivered. An additional charge for storage, of course! Aack!

An update: since I wrote that rant, we found out our tenants are buying a house and will be moving out of our house the first week in July. So, now we’ve delayed delivery to July 11. We wanted July 9, but oh well. It will work out. It will work out. It will work out. Good thing we couldn’t accept delivery earlier. We were really close to being all moved into an apartment before finding out our tenants were vacating. Wowza! Sometimes delays really are for the best.

So, I’m just scooting around Council Bluffs and Omaha, visiting family and friends and soaking up decorating inspiration until I can settle into my new groove in Summerville. I promise I’ll write a decent post soon.

This entry was posted in Decorating, Moving and tagged , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

2 thoughts on “It Will Work Out. Fingers Crossed. Repeat.

  1. Love knowing whats going on with you on the other side of the pond. 🙂 And it sounds like, to me, that the shipment delay was actually a blessing. Sometimes it’s hard, but we need to just trust that God knows what he’s doing with that big plan of His. 🙂 xoxo from Deutschland!

  2. Glad to hear things are coming together!! I’m sure my post when I return from our travels will be a little of this and that also, but I think I like that kind of post best sometimes! I didn’t realize you were so close to Omaha. I’ve heard lately that its a surprisingly cool place so you’ll have to fill us in!

Leave a Reply

