Hello Silver

This post is a little update of a post I recently wrote about a bedroom decorating project. You can read it here. Well, a few weeks before we left Germany, I finally got around to upgrading the art. Here is the before, which I really disliked but had gotten used to:

And here is the after:

So much better, right! I think the reflective glass and silver frame helped to break up the monotony of the fabric and add a little sparkle. I also added the orchid and did a better arrangement of pictures and my perfume bottles. Then I realized I need to do something about that ugly jewelry box. Maybe when we get unpacked in Summerville I’ll paint it a coordinating color. I don’t know what took me so long to get these Cathy Nichols prints framed up. I originally bought them on Etsy over two years ago.

It has been so long, Cathy Nichols doesn’t even have an Etsy shop anymore. She is represented by a gallery in Los Angeles. I’m really pleased how the prints look together. I had a hard time deciding if I wanted the prints framed separately or all together in one frame. It’s a lot easier to hang one frame, but I’d lose the versatility of having multiple frames that I can hang in a horizontal or vertical presentation. Price was a deciding factor. It turns out it took less material and maybe a little less labor to put everything in one frame. That helped nudge me in this direction, plus I don’t have anything else in my house with multiple prints in the same frame, not even a family photo collage. I wanted to try something different and I’m glad I did.

Have you had any simple projects that took you a really long time to complete? Weren’t you so glad when it was finally finished?

This entry was posted in Arts & Crafts, Decorating and tagged by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

Leave a Reply

