Milwaukee is Pretty Cool Y’all

I spent last weekend visiting my brother, Tim, in Milwaukee. This Midwestern city really brings it on the art scene. On Saturday we went to the Milwaukee Art Museum and I have to say I was impressed.

The architecture is stunning. The building looks like it could take flight and the ‘wings’ are retractable.

I took a few snap shots of some pieces that really caught my eye. I love blown glass and it’s easy to spot work by Dale Chihuly. I don’t think this would fit in my foyer. Darn!

I’m a sucker for Georgia O’Keeffe, but this piece is different from the florals she’s known for. I’m not usually one for landscapes, but I could do The Thomas Crown Affair job on this one.

 The Milwaukee Art Museum also had a piece by another favorite of mine, Marc Chagall.

Hello, my name is Jennifer. For those of you who don’t know me very well, I like a lot of color. Can you tell? Maybe I should plan a red and blue room when I redecorate our home in Summerville. I only have to look to my friends Chihuly, O’Keeffe and Chagall for inspiration.

Who are some of your favorite artists? Have you used artwork for decorating inspiration?

2 thoughts on “Milwaukee is Pretty Cool Y’all

  1. Love, love, love! I love museums especially ones that are interesting from the inside out! What an amazing building. I also love blown glass. That piece from Chihuly -WOW. And all in MilWaukee-who knew?

  2. When I think of Milwaukee, I usually think of beer and Laverne and Shirley. The city has come a long way since the 70’s and it’s even better when you get to visit family too!

Leave a Reply

