Good Intentions Fall Flat

When you are a designer the good part about moving around a lot is that it gives you plenty of chances to screw up and then correct your mistakes. I have an excellent example of a decorating screw up to share with you.

Here is our bedroom in our apartment in Germany.

That is a king size bed and it doesn’t leave room for much else – two night stands, a dresser and laundry hampers to be exact. The best thing about the room is the wall of windows that are filled with sun every day and lead out onto the terrace. Since we get so much sun on that side of the room, I had to cover the windows with sheers just to cut down on the glare. To help balance the room and deal with a super small, uncentered window behind our headboard, I did the same treatment on the left wall.

It looks okay, but it’s a lot of white, so I wanted to inexpensively add some color to the room. I used some green pillow covers to add color to the bed. Now I just needed some color on the opposite wall. My idea was fabric covered canvases hung above our dresser. It would add much needed color and pattern. Right?

So, I went ahead with my plan and spent probably $50-$60 on canvases and fabric. I planned the layout and got the “artwork” hung on the wall. I don’t like it. I hate it!

What went wrong? I just added more fabric to an already fabric filled room (king size bedding and two walls of curtains). If you look closely you can even see the canvases aren’t hung level or evenly (I think my laser level is in storage in South Carolina).

I like the colors but the texture and finish is flat, just flat. I’m a designer and I completely forgot to consider how important texture and finish is to a complete look. There is very little shine or sparkle in this room. It just falls flat.

I think I have a solution to this problem. Three Cathy Nichols art prints are currently at the craft shop getting framed into a custom mat and silver frame. The glass and silver should help to add some variety to the finish and texture of the room. I can’t wait to see my new artwork when it’s complete in one or two weeks. I’ll post an update when the new artwork is installed. As for the fabric canvases? More napkins?

Since I typed up this post, I have checked with the craft shop. Even though it has been six weeks, my artwork isn’t done. The frame had to be ordered and they don’t know when it will arrive. Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice! Wish they would have told me the frame wasn’t in stock. So, dear readers, if you ever have something custom made be sure to ask if the materials are in stock!

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

3 thoughts on “Good Intentions Fall Flat

  1. Good grief woman! How much did all of those sheers cost you here in Germany?!! THAT’S a lot of windows! I’d love to know if you found a good place to buy them. And the canvases are adorable! Don’t throw them out!!!! Maybe in a hallway or different room?? Love the idea of mixing textures…and i think you’re right….silver mirrors and frames are always an easy fix, aren’t they?!

    • I bought the sheers at Momax, 6 pairs and I think the max I paid was 20 Euro a pair, probably 15. Momax takes the VAT form and they deduct the 19% before you hand over the cash. The curtain rods and clips were from IKEA. I think fabric artwork would be good for an office, a room with lots of hard surfaces, but not the kitchen. That would get greasy and gross unless you use shelac over the fabric, maybe (would that even work?). I’m running out of walls thanks to all of the windows our apartment has. Wish I could get my new artwork sooner!

  2. Texture and finish. That’s definitely something I need to take a look at around my home. It’s amazing what a few different textures and finishes can make. It’s one of those elements for me that after it was added I’d think oh yeah that’s what it needed but I wouldn’t think to do it myself. Great advice!

Leave a Reply

