Sew Embarrassing

This is the first of what is sure to be many embarrassing posts by me about sewing. I’m learning and I’m not nearly as experienced as my friend, Mary Claire. In fact, I’ve only had a sewing machine for a few months. I bought it from another friend who moved away from Germany. My sewing machine’s manual isn’t even in English – German and Turkish, I think. I tried to obtain an English manual for it, but apparently it doesn’t even exist. So, I’ve tried to translate it as I need to and I’ve been watching videos on Youtube and picking the brains of all the expert seamstresses I know.

I recently tackled a minor project of using fabric scraps to make napkins. It actually took me several hours over a few days time to complete this project, mostly because I don’t know what I’m doing. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.

I used to watch This Old House on PBS. Norm Abram always said measure twice and cut once. The same applies to sewing. I haven’t figured out how to glue pieces of fabric back together again. If you know how to do this, let me know. Yup, the corners on a few of my napkins don’t look so hot.

Then I focused and figured out how to get the corners folded and cut right. Too bad my stitches don’t look so great.

But, practice makes perfect.

Fortunately, making napkins from fabric scraps is a super way to practice and learn how to use your sewing machine. Plus, all these reusable cloth napkins means we’ll be using less paper products and that is good for the environment.

Now I have a pretty assortment of colorful napkins in the preschool craft project my son made.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

3 thoughts on “Sew Embarrassing

  1. I like the idea of using fabric squares like this to make pretty napkins. Normally I turn them into pouches of some kind, but napkins could come in handy around here, so I might make a few of them when I have the chance. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Great work Jennifer! I use to watch this old house too with Bob Villa and Norm not that ” new” guy. How funny is that? I think I was 12. I’m sure you were too. Who else watched this old house at 12? Anyway, I love your napkins. I really need to do that myself- maybe for Easter! I love the cute hand shaped holder that he made! Next, a table cloth to match!! Only kidding!:)

    • I watched This Old House all of the time. It was just about the only DIY show on before HGTV. I started when Bob Vila hosted, then there was Steve Thomas and then the really new guy. I don’t even know his name because I haven’t watched in so long. BTW, I saw Steve Thomas in an airport once. Quite the brush with celebrity!

Leave a Reply

