Up and Down in Vienna

My family and I recently took a weekend trip to Vienna, Austria. While touring some museums and a palace, I had to remind myself to not only look at the exhibits but also at the architecture and design of the building. There was so much inspiration to be seen by just looking up at the ceiling and down at the floor.

It isn’t every day that you see ceilings and floors like this. I kept thinking how expensive it would be to recreate these rooms. You’d have to be a billionaire if you could even find an artisan that could do the work. But, I think maybe we can all find a little inspiration in these pictures and remember to include creative ideas for ceilings and floors when we’re decorating our own modest homes.

These ceilings are in the Natural History Museum.

This floor is in the Natural History Museum and the design radiates around the rotunda.

These floors are from the royal apartments in the Albertina Museum.

Wouldn’t it be fun to useĀ stencils to paint a beautiful design on a cement floor in a basement or maybe a sunroom? What about a patio?

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , by Jennifer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer

I'm an interior designer at my core and a big fan of simple pleasures and Mother Nature. Originally from Iowa, I've lived up and down the East Coast, plus Alaska and Germany (thanks to my husband, who must have nomadic blood in his veins). Currently I'm a Yankee in South Carolina, trying to keep up with my son and constantly adjusting to life in the South.

One thought on “Up and Down in Vienna

  1. Lovely! This actually gives me inspiration for some amazing quilt designs – maybe one day! Thanks for sharing these beautiful images!

Leave a Reply

